image for article

Pennsylvania Starts Medical Marijuana Application Process for Dispensaries, Growers/Processors

Companies vying to win one of Pennsylvania’s 27 coveted medical marijuana dispensary licenses or 12 grower/processor permits can now begin the application process, state officials announced Tuesday.

“This is an important step forward in getting this valuable medication to patients who desperately need it.” – Dr. Karen Murphy

“We’ve developed a thorough application that ensures the operators of medical marijuana grower/processor and dispensary facilities will meet our strict guidelines. Our goal is to deliver medication safely and responsibly and this application will help us do just that,” Pennsylvania Secretary of Health Dr. Karen Murphy said.

Those wishing to become a grower/processor for Pennsylvania’s medical marijuana program will need to cough up a non-refundable $10,000 application fee, as well as a $200,000 permit fee, which is refundable if the applicant is not awarded one of the 12 grower/processor permits available. Grower/processor applicants must also have proof of $2 million in capital, with at least $500,000 in the bank.

Applying for one of the 27 dispensary permits will cost slightly less, with applicants needing a $5,000 non-refundable application fee, and a $30,000 permit fee which is refundable for those whose applications are not approved. Dispensary applicants must prove $150,000 in capital.


The state is divided into six medical marijuana regions, with each region allocated two cultivation facilities. Each region will have a specific number of dispensary permits allocated, based on a number of factors, including population density.

Unless otherwise noted, each county listed below has been allocated one dispensary permit:

Region 1 – Southeast

  • Berks County
  • Bucks County
  • Chester County
  • Delaware County
  • Lancaster County
  • Montgomery County (2)
  • Philadelphia County (3)

Region 2 – Northeast

  • Lackawanna County
  • Lehigh County
  • Luzerne County
  • Northampton County

Region 3 – Southcentral

  • Blair County
  • Cumberland County
  • Dauphin County
  • York County

Region 4 – Northcentral

  • Centre County
  • Lycoming County

Region 5 – Southwest

  • Allegheny County (2)
  • Butler County
  • Washington County
  • Westmoreland County

Region 6 – Northwest

  • Erie County
  • Mckean County

Applications are available now for download, but there is small window to fill them out and apply.

Applications will only be accepted February 20 to March 20, 2017.

Applications can be found here for dispensaries, and here for grower/processors.